Cover for Kiss at Midnight

Buy the ebook
$3.99

Kindle Google Play iBooks Nook Kobo
A Town Called Forgotten #1

Kiss at Midnight

by Rachel Branton, 292 pages

Hailey steps off a bus with no memory of why she came to Forgotten or what she’s running from. She’s determined to make a new life, but the town vet Dylan keeps prying for answers she doesn’t have. She suspects he’s more likely to break her heart than to solve the riddle of her past.

A feel-good, small-town romance for fans of Robyn Carr, Leeanna Morgan, and Debra Clopton.

Hailey Waters steps off a bus with no memory of why she came to Forgotten or what she’s running from. And maybe it doesn’t matter. She’s determined to make a new life in this small town where strangers are friendly and helpful—especially veterinarian Dylan Morgan. But Dylan keeps prying for answers she doesn’t have. He’s a hero, always saving animals and people, and maybe she doesn’t need one of those right now. He’s more likely to break her heart than to solve the riddle of her past.

Dylan has returned to the small town he never should have left. He’s tired of women with secrets, the kind of women who always leave. When he finds Hailey in his friend’s barn, his training makes him uniquely qualified to be what she needs most—if he can keep the way he’s beginning to feel about her out of it. Because more and more he’s sure her secrets will tear him apart. But he can’t walk away or let her go. So maybe it’s time to take matters—and love—into his own hands.

Welcome to the small town of Forgotten, where people are more concerned about who you are now than what you might have left behind. Each of the novels in this series are stand-alone books, and you can read them in any order. However, the characters are like one big, extended family and often appear in many of the books, so by reading all of them, you can catch up with what your favorite characters are doing now.

“Kiss at Midnight is evocative, revealing, and hard to put down. Its realistic dilemmas and character growth powers a story that is compelling and involving.” –D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

See full editorial reviews here.

Reviews

D. Donovan, Senior Reviewer, Midwest Book Review says...

"The evolving conundrums of both characters, their different reasons for rejecting their pasts and attempting to embrace a future without it, and the clash of their personalities and needs as they face unexpected obstacles in their new lives makes for a wholesome, involving romance. This will especially delight women who look for emotionally-driven stories solidified by a solid small-town atmosphere. Kiss at Midnight is evocative, revealing, and hard to put down. Its realistic dilemmas and character growth powers a story that is compelling and involving."

Catia Shattuck, Senior Reviewer, My Book Ratings says...

"This clean romance has just the right amount of mystery to keep you turning the pages. It also brings in other attention-grabbing elements: a beloved dog about to give birth (and later, her adorable puppies), a B&B owner with secrets of her own, veterinarian house calls, characters you’d like as your own neighbors, and a charming, small-town festival. The ending is completely satisfying with exactly the right blend of sweet and passion to thrill lovers of wholesome romance."

Maxilyn says...

"A while back I dreamed I was moving to a small town. You know the type: One main street, one bank, one realty company, one of every kind of shop, small well-maintained homes with flowers climbing their lampposts and twining around their porch rails. Where everyone knows your business not just because they’re nosy (which they are), but also because they’re willing to offer help when you’re too reticent to ask for it. Forgotten is just such a town. Add people you care about, an enticing mystery,and a budding romance; and you have a thoroughly enjoyable book. Mrs. Branton promises that many of the characters will appear in the subsequent books in the series. Since I can’t actually move to Forgotten, I look forward to frequent visits."

KRM says...

"This is a lovely story—with wonderful characters—that is interwoven with mystery. If you are a romantic at heart, as I am, you’ll truly enjoy Kiss at Midnight . . . The town of Forgotten is definitely one that is worth visiting where people look out for each other as well as strangers . . . the power of love and attraction, the simple acts of kindness, patience and understanding can have just as strong and impactful effect as in this well-written novel to make for an interesting and entertaining read."

Bryce and Whitney Hurst says...

"Kiss at Midnight was such a fantastic story of overcoming and finding new love. Both Dylan and Hailey had traumatic experiences that lead them to Forgotten, Kansas, but truly it lead them home. Take a break and read how these to hurt souls finding healing and love together in a place that may be named Forgotten but is where the memories are found!"

Golden Bronze says...

"A sweet, fragile love story. Ensconced in abusive, and raw issues. Edifying, inspiring, and thoroughly diverting. If you're annoyed at the same stale love stories, you definitely can't miss any of Rachel's novels! A formidable, and prodigious author, who is very down to earth and approachable."